Thursday, May 25, 2017

Restaurants on the South Carolina Coast

My new book fell through when the publisher decided to stop publishing due to the retirement of key personnel. I had already completed the research, visiting, and selecting process, though. I'm still looking for a new publisher, so if any readers have recommendations, send me a note.

Here is a list of places that I would have included:

Little River: Captain Juel's Hurricane (captjuelshurricane.com), The Brentwood (thebrentwoodrestaurant.com), The Parson's Table (parsonstable.com)

North Myrtle Beach: Bistro 90 (bistro90.com), Joe’s Bar and Grill (joesbarandgrillonline.com), Sea Blue (seabluewinebar.com)

Myrtle Beach: Aspen Grille (aspen-grille.com), Chesapeake House (thechesapeakehouse.com), Chestnut Hill (chestnuthilldining.com), Croissants Bistro and Bakery (croissants.net), Fire and Smoke (fireandsmokegastropub.com), Island Vista Hotel (islandvista.com), Maggi Ds Fine Italian Cuisine (maggids.com), Sea Captain’s House (seacaptains.com), The Library (thelibraryrestaurantsc.com), The Original Mr. Fish Restaurant and Seafood Market (mrfish.com), Thoroughbreds Chophouse and Seafood Grille (thoroughbredsrestaurant.com)

Surfside Beach: Malibu of Surfside (facebook.com/Malibuofsurfside)

Garden City Beach: Pacino's Mediterranean Grill (facebook.com/pacmedgrille)

Murrells Inlet: Captain Dave's Dockside Restaurant (davesdockside.com), Costa (costamyrtlebeach.com), Drunken Jack's (drunkenjacks.com), Lee's Inlet Kitchen (leesinletkitchen.com), Wicked Tuna (thewickedtuna.com)

Pawley's Island: Bistro 217 (bistro217.com), Chive Blossom (chiveblossom.com), Frank's (franksandoutback.com), Perrone's (perronesmarket.com), Piccolo (caffepiccolopawleys.com), Rustic Table (rustictable.com)

Georgetown: The River Room (riverroomgeorgetown.com)

Charleston: 39 Rue de Jean (holycityhospitality.com/39-rue-de-jean), Burwell's Stone Fire Grill (burwellscharleston.com), Butter Tapas (buttertapas.com), Coast (holycityhospitality.com/coast-bar-and-grill), Cypress (cypresscharleston.com), Michael's on the Alley (holycityhospitality.com/michaels-on-the-alley), Oyster House on Market (oysterhouse.menu), Victor Social Club (holycityhospitality.com/victor-social-club), Vincent Chicco's (holycityhospitality.com/vincent-chiccos), Virginia's on King (holycityhospitality.com/virginias-on-king), 82 Queen (82queen.com)

Daniel Island: The Islander (holycityhospitality.com/the-islander)

Beaufort: Breakwater Restaurant and Bar (breakwatersc.com), Saltus River Grill (saltusrivergrill.com)

Dataw Island: Sweetgrass Restaurant (sweetgrassdataw.com)

Daufuskie Island: Marshside Mama's (marshsidemamas.com)

Hilton Head: Black Marlin Bayside Grill (blackmarlinhhi.com), Frankie Bones (frankieboneshhi.com), Marley's Island Grille (marleyshhi.com), One Hot Mama's American Grille (onehotmamas.com), Poseidon (poseidonhhi.com), Skull Creek Boathouse (skullcreekboathouse.com), Wise Guys (wiseguyshhi.com)

Bluffton: Bluffton Family Seafood House (blufftonoyster.com)

Restaurants on the North Carolina Coast

The list of restaurants below is from my book, Chefs of the Coast. In each geographical area, I have also provided sidebar feature articles about seafood markets, local produce, festivals, events of interest, along with suggestions about cooking and preparation, especially regarding seafoods. The book is a combination cookbook and travel guide. If you are travelling on the NC coast, it provides recommended restaurants, with profiles of the chefs and restaurants. If you want to cook, each chef provides recipes, with presentation instructions and a color photo of the dish, to guide plating, so you can make it look professional as well as taste great. You can order an autographed copy direct from me by sending a note to my e-mail. Click on my name under "About Me" on the right side of this page, then the link to e-mail. (Price: $19.95 + tax = $21.30. I will provide free shipping for orders placed from this blog.)

Elizabeth City: Montero’s Restaurant, Bar & Catering (monterosrestaurant.com)

Preparation Guidelines

Corolla: Metropolis (metropolisobx.com)(

Duck: The Blue Point (thebluepoint.com), The Paper Canoe (papercanoeobx.com), Red Sky Cafe (redskycafe.com)

How to Find Local Seafood and Agricultural Products

Outer Banks Taste of the Beach

Kitty Hawk: Rundown Cafe (rundowncafe.com), Trio (obxtrio.com) Kill Devil Hills: Bad Bean Baja Grill and Bad Bean Taqueria (badbeanobx.com), Chilli Peppers Coastal Grill (chilli-peppers.com), The Colington Cafe (thecolingtoncafe.com), JK’s Restaurant (jksrestaurant.com), Mako Mike’s (makomikes.com), Outer Banks Brewing Station (obbrewing.com)

Brad Price, Personal Chef

Manteo: Full Moon Cafe & Brewery (thefullmooncafe.com), Ortega’z (ortegaz.com), Stripers Bar & Grille (stripersbarandgrille.com)

Nags Head: Basnight’s Lone Cedar Cafe (lonecedarcafe.com), Cafe Lachine (cafelachine.com), Kelly’s Outer Banks Restaurant and Tavern (kellysrestaurant.com), Mulligan’s Raw Bar & Grille (mulligansobx.com), Sugar Creek Seafood Restaurant (sugarcreekseafood.com)

Austin Fish Company

Sugar Shack Fresh Seafood Market

Buxton: Cafe Pamlico at the Inn on Pamlico Sound (innonpamlicosound.com) Ocracoke: Back Porch Restaurant (backporchocracoke.com), Dajio (dajiorestaurant.com)

New Bern: The Chelsea (thechelsea.com), Persimmons Waterfront Restaurant (persimmonsrestaurant.com)

Beaufort: Aqua (aquaexperience.com), Beaufort Grocery Company (beaufortgrocery.com), Blue Moon Bistro (bluemoonbistro.biz), The Cedars Inn & Restaurant (cedarsinn.com), City Kitchen and Front Street Grill at Stillwater (facebook.com/citykitchenfoods), Front Street Grill (frontstreetgrillatstillwater.com), Clawson’s (clawsonsrestaurant.com)

Fishtowne Seafood

Beaufort Wine & Food Weekend

Morehead City: Bistro by the Sea (bistro-by-the-sea.com), Circa 81 (circa-81.com), The Ruddy Duck Tavern (ruddyducktavern.com)

Capt. Jim’s Seafood Market

North Carolina Seafood Festival

Atlantic Beach: Amos Mosquito’s Restaurant & Bar (amosmosquitos.com), Island Grille Restaurant & Bar (igrestaurant.net)

Willis Seafood

Emerald Isle:Cap’n Willis Seafood Market

Swansboro: Icehouse Waterfront Restaurant and The Boro Cafe (SwansboroIcehouse.com, BoroCafeNC.com)

Wilmington: Cape Fear Seafood Company (capefearseafoodcompany.com), Caprice Bistro (capricebistro.com), Catch (catchwilmington.com), Jerry’s Food, Wine, Spirits (jerrysfoodandwine.com), Kornerstone Bistro (kornerstonebistro.com), Le Catalan French Cafe & Wine Bar (lecatalan.com), manna (mannaavenue.com), Pembroke’s (pembrokescuisine.com), Port Land Grille (portlandgrille.com), Rx Restaurant & Bar (rxwilmington.com), Taste the Olive Cafe & Wine Bar (tastetheolive.com)

Motts Channel Seafood

Southport: Joseph’s Italian Bistro (Josephsitalianbistro.com), Live Oak Cafe (liveoakcafenc.com), Mr. P’s Bistro (mrpsbistro.com), Yacht Basin Eatery (ybenc.com)